• Mesa Elementary School has enjoyed a culture of academic excellence.

    It is a school where students are respected and valued. 


    Our primary focus is leading your children to learn and grow in the best possible educational environment.  It is our goal that all students achieve at or above grade level by the end of each school year.

    Our entire staff takes great pride in the educational achievement of your children. We have developed and implemented learning benchmarks, which compliment the Colorado State Education standards, in reading, writing, language arts, mathematics and science. We are proud of our wonderful students and their educational accomplishments which are a tribute to their parents, the leadership of teachers, the efforts of support staff members and parent volunteers. 




    Our Staff

    The staff of Mesa Elementary school consists of classroom teachers in kindergarten through fifth grade, teachers of music, physical education, art, library, English as a second language, speech therapy and special education. There are three custodians, three secretaries, three food service personnel, a counselor and, of course, our Principal and Assistant Principal. 

    Services are also provided via a school psychologist, a part time nurse, and District physical and occupational therapists.  In addition to these employees, we are fortunate to have a number of volunteers from our community who assist with many of our programs through our parent volunteer group, the P.I.T. Crew (Parents Interacting Together.)

    Interesting Facts

    • Mesa Elementary school was built in 1975. The school was opened and classes started in January of 1976.
    • Renovations and a second story at Mesa were completed in 2021.  
    • Mesa's school colors are RED, WHITE and BLUE.
    • Mesa's school mascot is MeMo the Mountain Lion.
    • Mesa Elementary has had seven principals since 1976:

    1976-1990          Mr. Bill Steer
    1990-1991          Mr. Jackie Harstad
    1991-2000          Dr. Roger Johnston
    2000-2006          Mr. Don Briix
    2006-2016          Mr. Coleman Onkle
    2016-2017          Mrs. Julie Hibbard                                                                                                                           
    2017-Present       Ms. Megan Oleson